Release: The Power of Letting Go

JamelleSanders
4 min readSep 29, 2023

--

As I write to you, I can truly say that I am in the greatest season of my life. I am seeing years of hard work, consistency and commitment pay off in big ways. In case you did not know, we are getting ready to embark upon the fourth quarter. This year is quickly coming to an end and it is so important that you make the most of the time that you have left. I’ve been reflecting a lot on the lessons that have shaped who I am today. One of the most important lessons I learned was the art of letting go. It profoundly changed my life and empowered me to become a greater version of myself. I hope these insights will empower you to break free from the past and break your way into new possibilities for your life.

  1. You have to decide to let go. If you are anything like me, then one of the hardest things to do is to let go. After all, we like controlling every intricate detail of our lives. The thought of taking our hands off of everything and trusting the process and the timing of God just seems terrifying. However, you will reach a point in your life where you have no other choice but to let go. All your striving, effort and strategizing will prove to be trivial. In that moment, you will have to release your need to control and trust God with the outcome. Honestly, you do not really start living until you make the decision to let go.
  2. You must then follow through with your decision and let go. While deciding to let go sounds good, the act of actually letting go is much more challenging. You have to understand that I am an intellectual. So I am very accustomed to figuring things out. I will tinker with problems and challenges until I arrive at a solution. Conversely, I reached a point in my life where I did not have the ability to figure it out and I did not have the solution. So I had no other choice but to take my hands off and let go. In the world today, so many people see letting go as a form of weakness. Personally, I see letting go as a powerful demonstration of strength. In letting go, you realize that human knowledge is limited but divine wisdom is infinite. Therefore, as you let go you access uncommon wisdom and unlock uncommon solutions. When you decide to let go, this is when you begin the journey to prophetic destiny.
  3. You must be willing to trust the process. Honestly, patience is a virtue that nobody really wants to be developed in. I listen to so many people that share edited and embellished versions of their stories. Also, I watch their faces as I authentically share my journey. I share the successes, failures, disappointments and everything that I have learned along the way. I know that many of these same people want me to omit parts of the story. However, what they fail to understand is that our omissions are often the very tools that people need to transform their lives. No matter how edited a story is I know from personal experience that you do not succeed overnight. Success is a process and a journey. The problem is that we do not want to trust the process. Therefore, we try to manipulate moments and manufacture manifestations. Truthfully, no door will open to you and no opportunity will emerge in your life until the timing is right. An opportunity without the right timing will produce frustration and failure in your life. Trusting the process is understanding that success is not a race. Trusting the process is having the assurance that you will arrive at the destination at the appointed time. Most of all, trusting the process is knowing that nothing can oppose what has been ordained for your life.
  4. You must remain committed to growth. While many factors have contributed to my success, I know for sure that what I am about to share with you is a major key. In learning the art of letting go, I have been able to leverage my experiences for growth. In other words, it is not enough for us to simply endure a process. You need to be empowered through your process. Most of all, your process should be a catalyst to your evolution. Many people never grow because they never make a commitment to grow. It is impossible to make a commitment to grow without first letting go. What do you need to let go of? Is it a painful memory? Or a bad experience? Or a dysfunctional relationship? Or a toxic trauma bond? Only you can define what you need to let go of. I know from personal experience that you have everything to gain by letting go and everything to lose by holding on. Trust me when I tell you that I would not be the person I am today if I did not let go. Your letting go is the seed for you living your greatest life. What you are willing to release makes room for those things destined for your life.

--

--

JamelleSanders

Jamelle Sanders is the CEO of Jamelle Sanders International. A global management, consulting advisory empowering leaders for success.